Driving School

Find a Driving School Online Driver's EdLicense ProcessDriving ResourceContact UsWhat's New

DMV - New driver license in Colorado

Application for a Driver’s License in Colorado

 

Driver's Education Permit

Ages 15 years - 15 years and 6 months.  Valid for 3 years after issuance.

You must have:

·         A completed Affidavit of Liability Guardianship (DR2460).

·         A completed Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Classroom Course indicating you have completed and passed the classroom portion of a state-approved driver education course within 6 months prior to applying for your instruction permit. (back of the DR2460)

·         The 30 hour classroom study course can be classroom or internet. The Statement of Completion form is located on the reverse side of the DR2460.

 

The Driver's Education Permit allows ONLY the signer of the DR2460 and/or the Driver Education Instructor to complete and log the 50 hours required on the drive time log sheet. This restriction does not apply to any person 18 years of age or older.

 

 While you are under 18, if the person(s) who signed the DR 2460 does not hold a valid Colorado driver's license, they may appoint an Alternate Permit Supervisor. The Alternate Permit Supervisor must hold a valid Colorado Driver's License and be 21 years of age or older. Drive time with an Alternate Permit Supervisor will count toward the 50 hour total required on the log sheet.

 

The person(s) who signed the DR 2460 may also allow any person 21 years of age or older, who holds a valid license, to supervise you while you are driving but that drive time does not count toward the 50 hour total required on the log sheet.

 

Driver's Awareness Permit

Ages 15 years and 6 months - 16 years.  Valid for 3 years from the date of issue.

To obtain this permit you must:

·         Hold the permit for a minimum of 12 months before applying for a Driver's License.

·         Complete an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship ( DR2460).

 

Documentation must be provided verifying that you have completed the 4-hour Driver Awareness Program or completed a 30 hour classroom study course. The 30 hour classroom study course can be classroom or internet. This requires completion within 6 months of applying for your Driver's Instruction Permit. The Statement of Completion form is located on the reverse side of the DR2460. 

 

PLEASE NOTE: If you elect to take driver education to get your permit, instead of the 4-hour Driver Awareness Program, you must, by statute, complete behind-the-wheel training prior to being issued your license.  Proof of completion of the behind-the-wheel training is required at the time you apply for your license.You may also substitute completion of the 4-hour Driver Awareness Program for the behind the wheel training.

 

 The Driver's Awareness Permit allows ONLY the signer of the DR2460 and/or the Driver Education Instructor to complete and log the 50 hours required on the driver time log sheet.

 

If the person(s) who signed the DR2460 does not hold a valid Colorado driver's license, they may appoint an Alternate Permit Supervisor.  The Alternate Permit Supervisor must hold a valid Colorado Driver's License and be 21 years of age or older.  Drive time with an Alternate Permit Supervisor may be counted toward the 50-hour total required on the log sheet.

 

 The person(s) who signed the DR2460 may also allow any person 21 years of age or older, who holds a valid license, to supervise the minor while driving but that drive time does not count toward the 50 hour total required on the log sheet.

 

Minor Instruction Permit

Ages 16 years - 21 years.  Valid for 3 years from the date of issue.

·         Minors under 18 must hold the permit for a minimum of 12 months before applying for a Driver's License.

·         Minors under 18 must present a completed Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship ( DR2460 ).

 

 The Minor Instruction Permit allows ONLY the signer of the DR2460 and/or the Driver Education Instructor to complete and log the 50 hours required on the drive time log sheet. This restriction does not apply to any person 18 years of age or older.

While you are under 18, if the person(s) who signed the DR2460 does not hold a valid Colorado driver's license, they may appoint an Alternate Permit Supervisor to supervise the minor while driving.  The Alternate Permit Supervisor must hold a valid Colorado driver's license and be 21 years of age or older.  Drive time with an Alternate Permit Supervisor will count toward the 50-hour total required on the log sheet.

 

 The person(s) who signed the DR2460 may also allow any person 21 years of age or older, who holds a valid license, to supervise the minor while driving but that driving time does not count toward the 50 hour total required on the log sheet.

Source: DMV

 


    Driving School Advertisement

     


    Home | Contact Us | Find a Driving School | Online Drivers Education | Link Directory | Sitemap | Advertise your Driving School

    © wanadrive.com
    Carte d'affaire