DMV - New driver license in Indiana
Application for a Driver‚Äôs License in Indiana
Getting a Learner‚Äôs Permit
Learner's permits are issued to Indiana residents who are at least 16 years old. To get a learner's permit you need to visit a license branch and pass a written examination and a standard vision screening test. You should arrive at a license branch at least one hour before the branch closes in order to take the written examination that day.¬†
The Written Test
You may schedule an appointment for the driving skills test by contacting an Indiana license branch. You should arrive at a license branch at least one hour before the branch closes in order to take the driving skills test that day.
The written examination is based on information contained in the Indiana driver's manual. To pass the written examination, you must demonstrate a basic understanding of Indiana traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Written examinations include multiple choice questions concerning traffic maneuvers and knowledge of types of traffic signs.
What happens if you fail a test?
If you fail a combination of three or more written examinations or driving skills tests, you must apply for a new learner's permit or driver education learner's permit and hold the permit for 60 days before applying for a driver's license. If you fail a driving skills test, you must wait 14 days before taking another driving skills test.
The Vision Screening Test
You must pass Indiana's minimum vision standards to get a license or permit, even if you are renewing your existing license or permit. If you normally wear glasses while driving, you need to bring your glasses with you when you visit a license branch to get a new license or permit, or renew your license or permit.
If your visual ability does not meet state standards, you will be referred to an eye doctor for examination. You may return to the license branch with a statement from an eye doctor certifying that your vision has been corrected to meet the state standard. When you present a statement from an eye doctor, you will still be required to pass a vision screening at the branch.
If you wear glasses or contact lenses, a Type A restriction will be placed on your driver's license.
The most common restrictions placed on a driver's license include:
¬∑¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† Type A: driver must wear glasses or contact lenses when driving.
¬∑¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† Type B: driver must use outside rearview mirrors when driving.
¬∑¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† Type C: driver may drive only during daylight hours.
Documents of identification
When you visit a license branch to apply for a learner's permit you must present documents of identification proving your identity, residency status, and Social Security number.
Agreement of financial responsibility
If you are younger than 18 years of age when you apply for a learner's permit, you must have a parent or guardian sign an agreement of financial responsibility.
The Agreement of financial responsibility
Any individual who is younger than 18 years of age when applying for a new, renewed, amended, or duplicate driver's license or permit must submit a completed, notarized agreement of financial responsibility at a license branch when applying for the license or permit. The Agreement of Financial Liability - State Form 39531 must be signed by an adult who agrees, under penalty of perjury, to assume all legal obligations for injuries or damages caused by the minor driver until that driver becomes 18 years old. The adult signing the agreement of financial responsibility must present documents of identification proving his or her identity and age.
The Agreement of Financial Liability - State Form 39531¬† may be completed at a license branch by the adult who is accepting financial responsibility. The form may also be downloaded from our Web site, notarized, and brought to a license branch by the minor when he or she applies for a license or permit.
The agreement of financial responsibility may be terminated in three ways:
The minor driver turns 18 years old.
The adult who signed the agreement of financial responsibility dies, in which case another adult must sign an agreement of financial responsibility for the minor driver.
The adult who signed the agreement of financial responsibility files an affidavit at a license branch requesting that the BMV terminate the minor driver's license or permit.