Driving School

Find a Driving School Online Driver's EdLicense ProcessDriving ResourceContact UsWhat's New

DMV - New driver license in Kentucky

Application for a Driver’s License in Kentucky

 

 

Summary of Kentucky’s Graduated Licensing Law

 

*This summary describes Kentucky’s Graduated Licensing law.

 

Permit Phase

 

·         Applicants must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a driving permit.

·         A parent or guardian must sign the permit application for applicants under the age of 18, taking responsibility for the applicant.

·         Applicant must successfully pass the written permit examination and the vision test to be issued a permit.

·         Applicants under the age of 21 must hold the driving permit for a minimum of 180 days. Applicants over the age of 21 must hold the driving permit for a minimum of 30 days.

·         Permit holders must drive with licensed driver over 21 years old accompanying them in the front passenger seat. (Must complete a minimum of 60 hours of practice driving, 10 of which must occur at night.)

·         Permit holders under the age of 18 are not allowed to drive between the hours of 12 midnight and 6 a.m. unless the driver can demonstrate a good cause for driving such as emergencies, school or work related activities.

·         Drivers receiving a moving traffic violation conviction under KRS 186, 189, 189A. will have to restart the 180 day Permit waiting period.

·         Permit holders shall not operate a motor vehicle at any time with more than 1 unrelated person under 20 years of age in the vehicle.

·         Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited. All drivers under the age of 21 are subject to “Zero Alcohol Tolerance” (Defined as .02 Blood Alcohol Concentration).

·         Drivers who receive a permit before 18 years of age must complete one of the following New Driver Education Programs before they will be eligible to apply for the full unrestricted license:

 

 

 

Graduated Licensing Course (Free 4 hour course provided by the Kentucky transportation Cabinet in the drivers home county)

 

◦High School Drivers Education Course or a similar course offered by a Kentucky Community College, Vocational School or Job Corps.

 

◦Private Driver Training course at a Division of Driver License approved driver training school.

·         All drivers are subject to Kentucky’s point system. A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than 6 points, or a driver age 18 and over who accumulates 12 points may have their driving privilege suspended.

·         No serious moving violations for those under the age of 18.

·         Buckle Up, it’s the Law! Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt at all times.

 

Intermediate License Phase

 

·         When applying for an Intermediate License the driver’s Parent/Guardian must certify the driver has completed 60 hours of practice driving, 10 of which must occur at night.

·         Drivers under 18 years of age who have successfully completed the permit phase must pass the driving skills test to be issued an intermediate license. After successfully completing the road test the Kentucky State Police driving examiner will place an “Intermediate License” sticker on the drivers permit.

·         Drivers 18 years of age or older do not have to complete the Intermediate License phase and may apply for a full unrestricted driver license, provided they have completed an approved Driver Education Program.

·         Intermediate License holders under the age of 18 are not allowed to drive between the hours of 12 midnight and 6 a.m. unless the driver can demonstrate a good cause for driving such as emergencies, school or work related activities.

·         Passenger restriction – limit 1 unrelated person under 20 years of age (secondary offense)

·         Drivers receiving a moving traffic conviction under KRS 186, 189, 189A. will have to restart the 180 day intermediate License waiting period.

·         Intermediate license holders must complete one of the following New Driver Education Programs before moving to the next licensing phase:

 

◦Graduated Licensing Course (Free 4 hour course provided by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet in the drivers home county)

 

◦High School Drivers Education Course or a similar course offered by a Kentucky Community College, Vocational School or Job Corps.

 

◦Private Driver Training course at a Division of Driver License approved driver training school.

 

·         Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited. All drivers under the age of 21 are subject to “Zero Alcohol Tolerance” (Defined as .02 Blood Alcohol Concentration).

·         A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than 6 points may have their driving privilege suspended.

·         No serious moving violations for those under the age of 18.

·         Buckle Up, it’s the Law! Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt at all times.

 

Full Unrestricted Driver License Phase

 

·         Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited. All drivers under the age of 21 are subject to “Zero Alcohol Tolerance” (Defined as .02 Blood Alcohol Concentration).

·         All drivers are subject to Kentucky’s point system. A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than 6 points, or a driver age 18 and over who accumulates 12 points may have their driving privilege suspended.

·         Buckle Up, it’s the Law! Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt at all times located in Kentucky in their immediate possession at all times when driving in Kentucky.

 

Requirements for Obtaining a Permit/License

 

·         Must be at least 16 years of age.

·         If under the age 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign the Driver License/ID Card Application Form. This form is available in Adobe-pdf format or jpg.

·         Written, vision, and skills testing are required for all new drivers.

·         Birth certificate. (Photo copies are not accepted)

·         A Social Security Card. (Laminated Social Security Cards are invalid and cannot be accepted)

·         If under age 18, must present a School Compliance Verification Form obtained from the student's school district of residence. (No Pass / No Drive Law - KRS 159.051 effective 8/1/2007)

 

Requirements for Social Security Number and Birth Certificate verification

 

·         The name on your driver license should be your legal name, if not you will need to take a copy of your birth certificate or a legal document showing your name change to the clerk's office to have your driver license information corrected.

·         If your social security card does not contain your legal name you will need to go to your local Social Security Administration field office to have your information updated in the Federal Social Security Administration database.

·         If your driver license has your new married name, but your social security card does not, you will need to go to your local Social Security Administration field office to have a social security card issued with your new last name.

 

Testing

 

·         New drivers must pass a vision, written and skills test to be issued a driver license.

·         No tests are required for persons transferring to Ky. with valid driving privileges, except persons transferring from foreign countries. 

·         No testing is required for persons suspended less than one year.

·         Eye and written tests are required for drivers suspended for more than one year.

·         Any driver suspended or expired for more than five (5) years will start as a new driver.

·         All driver testing is performed by the Kentucky State Police on scheduled days at circuit clerks offices. (Call for an appointment)

 

Driver License Renewal

 

·         A driver license must be renewed in the circuit clerks office in the Kentucky County of residence.

·         A Kentucky operator's license is valid for four years.

·         Age 21 and older, the license expires 31 days after the birth date.

·         Under age 21, the license expires 90 days after the 21st birthday.

·         Age 21 and over may renew a valid driver license up to six months prior to the expiration date.

·         If the license is expired for more than one year, a vision and written test will be required.

 

College Students

 

A college student may drive on their valid out-of-state license and is not required to transfer that license to Kentucky if:

 

·         They are a citizen of the United States;

·         They are enrolled as a full-time or part-time student at a university, college, or technical college located in Kentucky; and

·         They must have a student identification card from the university, college, or technical college l

 

 

Source: DMV

 


    Driving School Advertisement

     


    Home | Contact Us | Find a Driving School | Online Drivers Education | Link Directory | Sitemap | Advertise your Driving School

    © wanadrive.com
    Carte d'affaire