Driving School

Find a Driving School Online Driver's EdLicense ProcessDriving ResourceContact UsWhat's New

DMV - New driver license in Maine

Application for a Driver’s License in Maine





Important Information About Obtaining or Renewing A Driver's License or Identification Card


To obtain a driver's license you must successfully complete a driver knowledge examination and vision screening. 


You must be at least 16 years of age and have completed an approved driver education course.  If you are 18 years of age or older you are not required to complete driver education. 


You must successfully complete a road test.  If you are under 21 years of age, you are required to complete 35 hours of practice driving, which must include 5 hours of night driving, and have held your instruction permit for at least six months.  The 35 hours of practice driving must begin after you have been issued an instruction permit.  You must be accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 20 years old and holds a license that has not been suspended or revoked over the past two years. 


Note: The first license issued to a new applicant under 21 years of age is provisional for a period of two years. If a license is issued to a person under the age of 18 after September 13, 2003 that person receives an intermediate license which prohibits the licensee from the following:


1. Carrying passengers, except immediate family (grandparent; stepgrandparent; parent; stepparent; spouse; child; stepchildren; brother; sister; stepbrother; stepsister; a foreign exchange student that is living with the immediate family) unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age and has held a valid license for the past 2 years and is occupying the seat beside the driver.


2. Operating a motor vehicle from 12 a.m. to 5 a.m.


3. Operating a motor vehicle while using a cellular phone.


A person must hold an intermediate license for 180 days from the date the license was originally issued before they can receive an unrestricted license. If someone is convicted of violating one of the three restrictions listed above, the license restrictions will be extended for an additional period of 180 days from the date of the infraction.


If you are at least 21 years of age, your first license will be provisional for a period of one year.  If a person is convicted of a moving violation that occurred while operating with a provisional license, the license will be suspended for 30 days. Second and third offenses involve more severe penalties. 


New Resident With Valid Out of State License

 Important Information About Obtaining or Renewing A Driver's License or Identification Card


If you are moving to this state and have in your possession a valid out-of-state driver's license, you can obtain a Maine license by: 


1.  Visiting the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles office nearest you. Conversion of a CDL license must be processed by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles main office located on Hospital Street in Augusta.

     2.  Completing a vision screening . You may not be required to take a written and road test. 

     3.  Turning in your out-of-state license. 

     4.  Paying the exam and license fees (these fees differ by class).


Detailed information on laws, exams and licenses is available in booklet form. The Motorist Handbook and Study Guide is for Class C licenses and motorcycles. The Commercial Driver's Manual is the guide for CDL licenses. You can obtain either of these manual online or at any one of our branch offices or by contacting our Main Office.  


You must obtain a new Maine license within 30 days of becoming a resident of the State of Maine.


Source: DMV





    Driving School Advertisement


    Home | Contact Us | Find a Driving School | Online Drivers Education | Link Directory | Sitemap | Advertise your Driving School

    © wanadrive.com
    Carte d'affaire