DMV - New driver license in Massachussets
Application for a driver’s license in Massachusetts
You just turned 16 and are ready to obtain your learner's permit.
This is what you need to know before planning a trip with your parent or guardian to your local Registry branch:
· You need to study all of the information in the driver's manual. You may read the manual, in its entirety, online.
· You need to bring a completed License and ID Update application to any full-service RMV branch. You can find the application online or at the branch.
· If you are under the age of 18, a parent or guardian will need to sign the application.
· You will be required to pay a $30 written test fee as well as meet the identification requirements.
· You will also be required to pass a vision test or submit a RMV vision-screening certificate from your medical practitioner.
· Your photo and signature will be captured electronically on the RMV database
There is a 25 question (written/computer based) exam testing your knowledge of Massachusetts's motor vehicle laws and safe driving practices. You have 20 minutes to take the test and must answer 18 correctly in order to pass.
The test is administered on automated testing stations which are easy to use video screen kiosks.
For more information on preparing for and taking the written test, please refer to the Driver's Manual. If you have a disability and need to request an accommodation, please bring medical documentation and ask to speak to the branch manager
Facts about your Permit:
Your permit is valid for two (2) years and allows you to practice your driving skills as you prepare for your road test.
You must carry your permit whenever you drive until you earn a Junior Operator's License or a full driver's license.
You must always be accompanied by a licensed operator who occupies the passenger seat next to you. This person must be at least 21 years old and have a valid license with at least 1 year's driving experience
If you are under 18, you may not drive between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am unless accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.
A class D learner's permit allows you to operate a motor vehicle in another state as long as it does not violate the laws of that state.
You may only operate a passenger car.
The statistics available on teen motorists are both eye opening and sobering. Motor vehicle crashes are the number one killer of teens in the nation. New drivers are four times more likely to be killed and 14 times more likely to be injured than any other group. By a 2-to-1 margin, teens are more likely to kill someone with them than themselves.
The main causes of crashes amongst publicized teen fatalities were speed and inexperience. Alcohol, failure to wear a seat belt, and emotional distractions such as peer pressure and lack of sleep also often play parts in both fatal and non-fatal crashes. Passenger and time restrictions are in place to decrease the likelihood of youth being involved in vehicle crashes. This is why enforcement of these rules starts at home. You cannot rely on the police to be the sole protectors of children on the roadways. Parents and guardians must set and enforce the rules of the road.
Driver training starts much younger than 16. Children observe the driving habits of those around them early on and often put these practices into place when it is his or her turn to get behind the wheel. Set a strong example by being a responsible driver and reinforce good driving habits.
Parents/Guardians need to ensure that their teens are ready to meet this challenge through preparation and an open line of communication. No child under 18 can obtain a driver's license without their parents approval, so a parent should feel free to set a higher driving age if appropriate to the maturity and experience of each child.
In 2005, the following number of original licenses were issued to Massachusetts teens: Age # of Original Licenses Issued
16 Year Old 44,378
17 Year Old 15,411
18 Year Old 9,857
2005 Statistics on violations by Massachusetts's junior operators by violation: Type of Violation Number of Citations % Found Responsible % Found Not Responsible
Passenger Restriction 1398 74% 25%
Time Restriction 79 6% 94%
•Two out of five deaths among U.S. teens are the result of a motor vehicle crash (CDC 2004).
•In 2002, more than 5,000 teens ages 16 to 19 died of injuries caused by motor vehicle crashes (CDC 2004).
•The risk of motor vehicle crashes is higher among 16 to 19 year olds than among any other age group. Per mile driven, teen drivers ages 16 to 19 are four times more likely than older drivers to crash (IIHS 2005).
•In 2003, teenagers accounted for 10% of the U.S. population and 13% of motor vehicle crash deaths (IIHS 2005).
•In 2002, the estimated economic cost of police-reported crashes (both fatal and nonfatal - involving drivers ages 15 to 20 was $40.8 billion (NHTSA 2003).